We would once again like to congratulate the winners in the First Annual Per Contra Prize.  You can click the title of each story to the right to read the winners' stories.  We appreciate the work of everyone who submitted a manuscript and wish all of the winners continued success. 

We also look forward to reading the manuscripts submitted this year.  You can get the guidelines for the 2nd Annual Per Contra Prize by Clicking Here.

To Continue to Per Contra Fiction Winter 2007 - 2008 Click Here

Grand Prize

Nadine Darling - The Circus Life


And Other Winners:

Jennifer Anthony - Palomar

Jennifer Byrne - Semi-Permanent Red

Leonard Kress - Engorged

Wayne Lewis - Metaphysics

John Martin - Centerpiece

Daniel Post - Ratface

Lorna Smedman - Cousins TV Repair and Antenna

Lesley C. Weston - Happiness Runs and Breakfront



Per Contra Spring 2008, featuring the work of Daniel Hoffman, new and unpublished work by John Updike, Maxine Kumin, William Jay Smith, Rhina P. Espaillat and Stephen Dixon.  Coming March 1st.