Back To Table of Contents

Welcome to the Second Annual Per Contra Prize.  In September of 2007, we opened submissions for short fiction between 1,000 and 3,000 words.  By January 31, 2008, we received fiction submissions from writers spanning five continents and many cultures. 

We appreciate all of the writers who submitted work to us.  Each story was processed, separating the writer's entry information from it, and given to the editor to read.  Each was read entirely.  From all that entered, ten stories were selected.  The Grand Prize Winner is published in this issue.  The remaining nine stories will be published in our June, September and December issues.

The Ten Winners Are (In Alphabetical Order):

Mother of Pearl by Sally Bellerose

The Curse of the Golden Carp by Elaine Chiew

The Audrey Me by Frankie Drayus

In the Palace of Cortes by Clifford Garstang

Silver Leaves for Judah Jones by Vanessa Gebbie

Heavy Transport by Beverly A. Jackson

Afternoon Tea by Robert Leone

Photophobia by Mary Lynn Reed

Mine by David Moore Robinson

The Hill by Lauren Schenkman

Congratulations to all of our winners in 2008.  We are now proud to present the Grand Prize winner in the Second Annual Per Contra Prize: